The Augustinian hermit monastery in Freiburg was first mentioned in 1278. The choir roof truss from the 14th century is, along with that of the cathedral, the oldest in Freiburg. At the beginning of the 18th century, the church was enlarged and remodeled in the Baroque style. From 1823 the church of the monastery, secularized in 1810, serves as a theater, the other buildings are used as barracks. The theater closes in 1910 and is converted into a museum in 1921. In 1923 the "Städtische Sammlungen im Augustinermuseum" open.
At the moment the museum is being completely renovated. Modern exhibition rooms are being created in three major construction phases. The first stage, the conversion of the former monastery church, has already been completed. Under the hand of the architect Prof. Christoph Mäckler, a modern museum is being created that will enable a special spatial and artistic experience.